Kenya’s Abraham Kiptum wins Lagos city marathon. AGAIN.

With a record of two hours, 10 minutes, Kenya’s Abraham Kiptum, who won the maiden edition of Access Bank marathon race, has emerged winner of the 2017 edition.

In 2016, the Kenyan won the race with a time of two hours, 16 minutes and 19 seconds.

On Saturday, Kiptum’s compatriots, Ronny Kiboss and  Kiprotich Kiroi came second and third respectively.


Meanwhile, Philip Sharabutu was the first Nigerian to cross the finishing line, while Emmanuel Gyang came second.

In the women’s category, Halima Hussen of Ethiopia emerged first, with a time of 2 hours, 38 minutes and 36 seconds.

The race started at the National Stadium, Surulere and ended at the Eko Atlantic City in Victoria Island.

A total of 55,000 local and foreign runners and 30 wheelchair athletes battled for various prizes at stake.

Sixty-four elite professional athletes and 102 Nigerians were among the competitors.

For his outstanding performance, Kiptum will receive a cash prize of N25 million and other rewards.

…and yes, others didn’t quite make it.


Follow us on Twitter @anttentionmedia

Antenttion Tv was live at the marathon too 🙂