Oyo State: Seyi Makinde Emerges Victorious in 17 Oyo LGs Declared by INEC

Seyi Makinde Emerges Victorious in 17 Oyo LGs Declared by INEC

The political atmosphere in Oyo State, Nigeria, is currently charged as the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) continues to release results from the governorship election that took place on March 18, 2023. The election was contested by various candidates from different political parties, but the two major contenders are Seyi Makinde of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The announcement of the governorship result is currently ongoing at Mutiu Agboke Collation Center, Oyo INEC headquarters, Agodi, Ibadan. The latest results from the center indicate that Seyi Makinde is currently leading in the governorship election results so far declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), after clearing 17 out of the 33 local governments. On the other hand, Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has won just one local government.

Seyi Makinde, who is the incumbent governor of the state, is seeking re-election. His party, the PDP, has garnered significant support in most of the local governments announced so far, with a wide margin of victory over his closest rival, Teslim Folarin of the APC. This result, if maintained until the end of the election, will enable Makinde to retain his seat as the governor of Oyo State for another term.

The results so far declared by INEC are as follows:

1) Ona-Ara Local Government
Accord: 1,212
APC: 5,510
PDP: 17,326

2) Ibadan Northwest Local Government

Accord: 1,291
APC: 5,947
PDP: 19007

3) Ibarapa East Local Government

Accord: 1,885
APC: 7094
PDP: 11,125

4) Afijio Local Government

Accord: 1,357
APC: 5,588
PDP: 13,139

5) Atiba Local Government

Accord: 1,113
APC: 7,484
PDP: 18,389

6) Orire Local Government
Accord: 1,895
APC: 9,216
PDP: 13,767

7) Ibadan Southwest Local Government
A: 2,270
APC: 9,491
PDP: 31,273

8) Oluyole Local Government

Accord: 1,386
APC: 6,592
PDP: 21,700

9) Atisbo Local Government
Accord: 1,188
APC: 6,955
PDP: 9,199

10) Saki East Local Government

Accord: 188
APC: 5,519
PDP: 8,374

11) Surulere Local Government

Accord: 271
APC: 8,882
PDP: 15,554

12) Itewiwaju Local Government

Accord: 2036
APC: 4,597
PDP: 8034

13) Ogo Oluwa Local Government

Accord: 50
APC: 5,570
PDP: 10,930

14) Irepo Local Government
Accord: 388
APC: 9,785
PDP: 7,193

15) Olorunsogo Local Government
Accord: 998
APC: 4,851
PDP: 5,838

16) Ibadan Northeast Local Government

Accord: 1,564
APC: 8,486
PDP: 29,396

17) Ogbomosho South Local Government
Accord: 10
PDP: 17,693

18) Ibadan South East

Accord: 1,846
APC: 9,147
PDP: 23,585

Meanwhile, INEC is currently observing an hour break.

Leave a reply