Lagos State Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu Submits Commissioner List for Assembly Validation

Lagos State Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu Submits Commissioner List for Assembly Validation

In a bold move on Friday, Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, sent the list of his proposed cabinet members to the Lagos State House of Assembly for validation. This action reflects the Governor’s commitment to maintaining an efficient and transparent government. The proposed commissioner list comprises technocrats, politicians, and young talents, including a substantial representation of 30 percent of women. It’s an impressive assembly of people that underscores the Governor’s dedication to diversity and inclusive representation.

According to a tweet by the governor’s Chief Press Secretary, Gboyega Akosile, some names on the commissioner list are returning faces from Governor Sanwo-Olu’s first term in office. They have proven their mettle and are being entrusted with the opportunity to continue their service to the people of Lagos State.

Notable returning figures include Mr Gbenga Omotoso, the erstwhile Commissioner for Information and Strategy, and his counterpart from the Budget and Economic Planning sector, Mr Sam Egube. The well-regarded ex-Commissioner for Health, Prof. Akin Abayomi, the former Special Adviser to the Governor on Works and Infrastructure, Aramide Adeyooye, and his Education counterpart, Tokunbo Wahab, also made the cut.

However, the list wasn’t entirely a reprisal of Governor Sanwo-Olu’s initial cabinet. Some former members did not make it back to the commissioner list. They include former Commissioner of Finance, Rabiu Olowo; ex-Commissioner for Justice and Attorney-General of the state, Moyosore Onigbanjo, SAN; and former Commissioner for Wealth Creation, Yetunde Arobieke. Their absence has sparked a considerable conversation, with many curious to know who their replacements will be.

The complete commissioner list transmitted by Governor Sanwo-Olu on Friday to the Lagos State House of Assembly comprises the following individuals:

  1. 1. Mr Afolabi Ayantayo
    2. Mr Jamiu Alli-Balogun
    3. Mr Rotimi Ogunwuyi
    4. Mr Gbenga Oyeriinde
    5. Mr Lawal Pedro (SAN)
    6. Mr Mobolaji Ogunlende
    7. Mr Ibrahim Layode
    8. Dr Dolapo Fasawe
    9. Mrs Toke Benson-Awoyinka
    10. Mr Olakunle Rotimi-Akodu
    11. Mr Abdulkabir Ogungbo
    12. Abiola Olowu
    13. Dr Adekunle Olayinka
    14. Mrs Bolaji Cecilia Dada
    15. Aramide Adeyoye
    16. Mr Idris Aregbe
    17. Mr Yakubu Alebiosu
    18. Mr Tokunbo Wahab
    19. Bola Olumegbon
    20. Dr Oreoluwa Finnih-Awokoya
    21. Mr Kayode Roberts
    22. Mr Moruf Fatai
    23. Mr Seun Osiyemi
    24. Mrs Barakat Bakare
    25. Prof. Akin Abayomi
    26. Mr Gbenga Omotoso
    27. Olalere Odusote
    28. Dr Rotimi Fashola
    29. Mr Mosopefolu George
    30. Mr Tunbosun Alake
    31. Ms Ruth Olusanya
    32. Mrs Folashade Adefisayo
    33. Mrs Folashade Ambrose
    34. Dr Olumide Oluyinka
    35. Mr Yomi Oluyomi
    36. Mr Sam Egube
    37. Dr Jide Babatunde
    38. Mr Olalekan Fatodu
    39. Mrs Solape Hammond

The unveiling of this commissioner list follows closely on the heels of another significant political development. Just 24 hours prior, the Senate revealed President Bola Tinubu’s proposed cabinet members at a plenary session on Thursday.

These political maneuvers mark a critical time in Nigeria’s governance, spotlighting key leaders and decision-makers set to shape the country’s future. The Lagos State Commissioner List, in particular, indicates Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu’s continuing dedication to blending youth, experience, and gender diversity within his cabinet, a strategy that has been well-received by many. It further signifies his commitment to inclusivity and balanced representation as he continues in his quest to drive growth and development in Lagos State.

As we wait for the ratification of this list by the Lagos State House of Assembly, it’s worth noting that the success of any administration is not only determined by the credibility of its proposed cabinet members but also their collective ability to work effectively towards achieving the state’s objectives. The people of Lagos State will be keenly watching as events unfold and are hopeful for a cabinet that will actively work to address their needs and drive Lagos State to greater heights.

Leave a reply